Tipping Makes You Lucky (?)

If it makes you feel warm and fuzzy, tip 'em

“If I see ONE MORE TIP JAR or TIP PROMPT, I’m going to scream…” say so many headlines these days…

As always, first thing:

🍀☘️🍀☘️🍀☘️🍀☘️

Say it with me—»I am lucky and getting luckier every day!

🍀☘️🍀☘️🍀☘️🍀

Tipping is on the minds of seemingly everyone these days. And especially those who can possibly earn a tip. Did you know some BRIDAL SHOPS are suggesting a 20% tip on the price of a wedding dress? Hopefully that was an internet story not a real thing but given how pricy wedding dresses can be, that’s thousands of dollars for a dress, plus alterations, tax, and steaming it for the Big Day. Plus 20% tip on each step, including the dress, veil, etc.?

So what’s appropriate? Here’s my tipping take, and we can discuss it if you disagree.

I’ll start with food because it’s the most common. Unless the service is abysmal, please do tip at least 10% for in person meals. 20% for good service. More for excellent service or if you’re wealthy. Is there a higher expectation for wealthy people to tip? Yes. Absolutely. If you’re a billionaire, you’re tipping 100% at minimum for all food service in person, including coffee shops and 30% on pickup/delivery. If you’re a millionaire with over $50 million in net worth or book private jets, you’re tipping 50% at minimum for in person food and coffee, 20% on pickup/delivery. If you’re Ben Affleck heading down for his daily Dunkin’, it’s a crisp $5 each time. Tipping gleefully on all counts. You’re blessed and abundant, how amazing you get to share it with someone whose job you wouldn’t enjoy.

(HEY EUROPEANS and other global travelers: when Americans are in Europe, your servers expect us to tip them, sometimes explicitly and aggressively (it’s happened to me). While you’re visiting the U.S., please understand our culture and tip also. )

I’ll also add that I’m seeing an increasing number of people sharing their experiences with the rich and famous on social media. And if you’re either one, your server probably knows who you are so failing to tip in private could get you shamed in public. Your autograph is NOT a tip. It’s nice. So are selfies with fans. But none of that is a tip.

If you’re a regular schmoe, you get to tip 20% on all good or better service for in person dining, and delivery varies because the cities have different costs depending on local laws. Obviously less for bad service but not less than 10% unless there’s a massive actual problem. Pickup order tips would be so nice for you to do, even if not 10% or more. Something would be excellent and, hopefully, appreciated.

When you’re staying in a hotel, it’s nice to tip the housekeeper. Regular people, $3 a day minimum. Millionaires $10 a day minimum. Billionaires $20 a day minimum. Put the cash in an envelope that says “This is for my housekeeper with gratitude”- and leave it at the front desk if you’re not having them clean your room. Otherwise leave it on the desk or another obvious area in your room. If you’re able to do more, please do. Most people still do nothing so this is a start.

Other tips as appropriate- and will vary by city. I’m not sure that a 20% tip on hair coloring is expected in Alabama, but it is in NYC. Plus a tip for the person who washes your hair (which is often NOT the person cutting your hair in the Big Apple.)

I won’t be tipping 20% on a wedding dress, but I would tip something, depending on the service and my income level. Plus, the guilt works- I feel bad when I don’t tip in a situation that I feel like is appropriate or that I should. And the guilt messes with my head and definitely makes me less lucky (guilt stinks). Spin that tablet around with the 20% tip thing and I feel awful if I don’t at least “custom tip” a buck. Just me? I seriously doubt it.

People seem to have forgotten the joy and fulfillment that providing for others can bring. If you’ve go the money, honey, lay down a tip when you can. Don’t go broke but remember that you can’t take it with you. Have some fun with being generous. I get pumped finding pennies on the street. It would make my month to find a hundred dollar bill.

More on this soon but, as with so many things, you get to reframe tipping as an opportunity to make someone’s day and life a bit better instead of some sort of entitlement and it feels better for your sake- and it’s also a chance for you to reflect and be grateful for your own abundance and wonderful LUCK. Think to yourself, “How lucky am I that I afford this amazing meal and a tip to the wonderful people who made the experience so outstanding for me!”

(By the way, nobody had to tell Chamath Palihapitiya to tip 100% - if you’re a listener to the All In Podcast he just discussed it. Well done, Chamath!)

Make it a lucky day!

Felix

PS: Do you have suggestions that you’d like to hear about or a lucky story you’d like to share? Email me at [email protected]!

Anyone who wants to boost their luck for FREE with free luck tips every week should subscribe to this awesome newsletter! Sign up at www.LuckyStan.com

We Stan (Support) Luck! We are lucky! Boost your luck with every email with LuckyStan™!

PS: Helping us on our mission to make you and the world luckier makes you luckier… and vice versa ;)